

"Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful" Joshua J. Marine

LEADERSHIP CHANGES AT CITRUS GROWERS' ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

The Citrus Growers' Association of Southern Africa (CGA) is proud to welcome Hannes de Waal as the newly elected Chairman of its Board for a two-year term.

The CGA Board comprises 20 directors. These individuals represent 15 different grower regions, with 2 directors representing emerging farmers in the northern and southern regions, a director of government relations and a director who heads up the finance and risk review committee.

Hannes de Waal, who is currently the CEO of the Sunday River Valley Citrus Company (SRCC), has been a member of the Board since 2017, serving as Vice Chairperson for the past two years.

He also has over 26 years of experience in the citrus industry, first joining the Outspan team at the Durban Container Port terminal. He held various positions over 17 years within the Capespan group, mostly relating to procurement, marketing and logistics. He then joined the SRCC in 2011 as its Marketing Director and became Managing Director just four years later, and most recently, its CEO. Hannes also serves as the Chairman of Venco, a young business specializing in the manufacturing of juice and oil concentrate as well as Chairman of the Citrus Producer Forum in Sundays River Valley.

Reacting to his election as Chairman, Hannes said: "It is my privilege to serve our dynamic industry in this capacity. Over the last decade I have had the pleasure of observing the growth and resilience of a valley of smaller farmers who have worked hard to build professional businesses, distributing high quality fruit into local and foreign markets. I am a firm believer that South Africa's agricultural sector is one in which benefits are enjoyed by all members of the value and supply chain – this is something we must continue to build on.

CEO of the CGA, Justin Chadwick congratulated Hannes on his appointment: "Hannes brings a wealth of experience to his new role, and has served in various leadership positions in the citrus industry over many years. I look forward to continuing our work together, with the aim of furthering the interests of our citrus growers when it comes to expanding market access and creating an inclusive, profitable and sustainable industry" says CEO Justin Chadwick.

When it comes to his vision in his role of Chairman, Hannes stated: "The process of establishing strategy is well structured within the CGA. This is the result of a strong team effort that feeds off the fact that all Board members are experienced citrus producers and businessmen. I hope to leverage their strengths to expand our transformation initiatives, while helping our local citrus industry grow by gaining, retaining and optimizing our market access opportunities in an inclusive and profitable manner. This is just what our industry needs to continue growing from strength to strength. This will of course have to be accompanied by a strategic plan that addresses the many logistical and shipping challenges faced by our growers".

Justin also thanked outgoing Chairman, Cornel van der Merwe for his contribution to the industry: "On behalf of the CGA, I would like to thank you for the important work you have done over the past two years. The industry has faced a number of serious challenges over this period, and we have appreciated your constant support and steady leadership to navigate through these difficult times. The CGA is thrilled that it will continue to benefit from Cornel's knowledge and expertise due to him staying on as a Board Vice-Chair".

Hannes echoed Justin's sentiments: "Cornel and I have been friends since my Outspan days and it has been an absolute privilege to serve with him. He is not easily fazed and has always led with a pragmatic and cheerful approach, regardless of the challenges present. I am also immensely grateful for the fact that he will remain within the role of Vice Chair to ensure continuity".

The position of second Vice Chair is filled by Gerrit van der Merwe. With Piet Engelbrecht, George Hall and Jan-Louis Pretorius making up the remainder of the Board Executive.